Writing like nobody else

Found this blog about finding your unique author’s voice (to write that novel that will make J K Rowling look like a total failure).

I met an author a while ago who said he doesn’t believe you can learn to write apart form grammar and stuff, of course. I hope that’s true. For my sake. Apart from the grammar. Life is unfair because if you’re famous enough you don’t have to bother about grammar, you’re supposed to be flippant about the whole thing, just like that.

I guess we, as readers, immediately recognise an author we know well when we start a new novel, but it’s very difficult to pinpoint exactly what it is about the text that makes it unique to that specific author. I know what I’ll do about finding my unique author’s voice: just keep writing.

Leave a Reply

