What Heaven can offer a young person who might worry about what comes next (no, not after graduation)

Perhaps this is a too dark novel for the happy student at uni or college?

I found this novel,  Beers in Heaven, by Ford Forkum – honestly, I can’t remember who recommended it so I can’t thank the person or give you any other advice than buying, borrowing or begging it off someone who is lucky enough to be in possession of a copy. 

I went in not knowing what to expect and closed the book (well, not really as I read it on my kindle) with a smile on my face. Zack Preston finds himself in modern day Heaven, where he is processed with the help of computer software and is allocated a cloud furnished with flats, parks and bars and restaurants where he can buy beer. To help him come to terms with his life (and untimely death) he has a confused giraffe and a professional guide. Only too soon is the reader made aware that Zack is struggling and his worst fear is to be sent downstairs… I found I had to make myself continue the read initially, but as the suspense grew I was drawn into the novel. Zack is as loveable as a stray dog and his struggle at life together with the very comic parts of the book makes it a story I cannot but recommend. It is written in the same crazy style as The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams. 

Oh, and by the way, it has nothing to do with religion so no one should have to feel offended. I also believe the author has written a book about zombies, but after having read the worst book ever involving zombies I’m not going to give you a link to it. 

Leave a Reply

